ISNZ Conference 2019 - thank you for supporting us!

Last week, the 2019 ISNZ Annual Conference was held at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa in Wellington. The conference explored the Future of Talent, and delegates enjoyed hearing from a variety of futurists, thought leaders and education experts about what the future holds and how our schools can best equip themselves for the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.

 0830 0136

Futurist Roger Dennis gives the opening keynote address on Navigating an Uncertain Future

Delegates were challenged to think about many pressing and provocative questions posed by the conference speakers, including:

  • How well is your school using its staff to build reputation?
  • Is your school nurturing the 'soft skills' that are now the critical skills young people need for success?
  • Are you encouraging your students to use technology in a smart, safe and responsible way?
  • Does your school have the right security tools in place to protect it from a data breach?
  • Are you prepared for the macro changes happening across society, technology, the environment, economics and politics?

The Opening Ceremony of the Conference featured an address by Associate Minister of Education Hon Jenny Salesa and a stirring performance from the Samuel Marsden Collegiate School Kapa Haka group and Ad Summa Chorale.

 0830 0049

The ISNZ Honours Awards were also presented at the Ceremony, and you can read about our wonderful winners here.

Honours group

The 2019 Honours Awards recipients with ISNZ Chair Heather McRae, Roger Franklin-Smith of Cambridge Assessment International Education, and Associate Minister of Education Hon Jenny Salesa

A huge thank you to all our delegates and sponsors - we truly appreciate your support of ISNZ. Many of our sponsors also kindly donated a range of wonderful prizes, and the winners from our delegation were delighted to receive them. Winner of the mystery weekend incentive prize donated by Tour Time was Evert van Florenstein of St Andrew’s College. Katy Ellis from Scots College won the Taittinger Champagne donated by International SOS, while Chris Wiggins of Pinehurst School was the lucky winner of a luxury break in Queenstown, kindly donated by our Platinum Sponsor Fuji Xerox. Congratulations to them and to all the other prize winners.

Jo Fogarty Evert van Florenstein

Incentive Prize winner Evert van Florenstein with Tour Time’s Jo Fogarty