ISNZ Honours Awards

2021 Honours Awards – nominations open

Nominations have opened for the 2021 Honours Awards, celebrating all member school staff who go above and beyond the call of duty:


ISNZ logo 2018 002 no strapline v2

2020 Honours Awards

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Honours Awards were cancelled.


ISNZ logo 2018 002 no strapline v2

2019 Honours Awards Recipients

The 2019 awards were presented to the successful recipients at the ISNZ Annual Conference, held on Friday 30 August 2019 at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa in Wellington.

Honours group

(l-r) 2019 Honours Awards recipients Wilj Dekkers, Julia McIntyre, David Evans, Susan Marriott, Deb Sharpe, Julie Hogg, Ann Walker, Janey Wackrow, Donald MacLean, Kerri Fitzgerald, Mike Kilgour, Lesley Bath, Lawrence Stephens and Sue van Dort; ISNZ Chair Heather McRae; Roger Franklin-Smith of Cambridge Assessment International Education; and Associate Minister of Education Hon Jenny Salesa


Read about the recipients and their awards 

Lesley Bath, Medbury School - Service to Learning Support

Wilj Dekkers, St Andrew's College - Service to Innovation and Technology

David Evans, St Andrew's College - Service to School Management

Kerri Fitzgerald, Medbury School - Service to Drama

Julie Hogg, St Cuthbert's College - Service to the Boarding Sector

Michael Kilgour, St Peter's, Cambridge - Service to Teaching and Education Outside the Classroom

Susan Marriott, Diocesan School for Girls - Service to School Leadership and Languages Learning

Julia McIntyre, Southwell School - Service to Music and the Performing Arts

Deb Sharpe, Diocesan School for Girls - Service to Horticulture and the Environment

Lawrence Stephens, ACG Sunderland - Service to Chemistry and Senior Management

Sue van Dort, St George's School - Service to Teaching

Janey Wackrow, St Peter's, Cambridge - Service to Sport (Rowing)

Ann Walker, Scots College - Service to Development and Advancement


Distinguished Service Awards

Bruce Goodfellow, Saint Kentigern - Outstanding Service to Governance in Independent Schooling in New Zealand

Donald MacLean, Dilworth School - Outstanding Service to Independent Schooling in New Zealand

Tim Oughton, Kristin School - Outstanding Service to Independent Schooling in New Zealand and Australia


About the ISNZ Honours Awards

The ISNZ Honours Awards give recognition to staff – academic, support and others – who stand out above and beyond what might reasonably be expected as part of their paid employment. See the Honours Awards criteria here

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ISNZ Annual Conference we have made the decision to defer the next ISNZ Honours Awards until 2021. The 2021 ISNZ Annual Conference will be held at the Grand Millennium in Auckland on 20-21 August.  We would like to recognise those who are successful recipients in front of the wider independent schools community where they can be presented with their award in person as part of the Conference programme. 


ISNZ Honours Awards 2021 are proudly supported by:

CAIE logo col