ISNZ Honours Awards 2021 – winners announced!

It is with great regret that, due to the COVID-19 lockdown, Minister of Education Chris Hipkins was unable to personally present the ISNZ Honours Awards 2021 to acknowledge and celebrate the people who work in and give tirelessly to our member schools.

These awards give recognition to staff – be they academic, support staff, boarding, sporting, property, administration roles and others – who stand out above and beyond what might reasonably be expected as part of their employment. A wide range of roles contribute to the success of independent schools, and these awards are inclusive of the diversity of positions held by staff. 

Successful candidates demonstrate an outstanding commitment and dedication to their students, not necessarily in a classroom setting. They must have five years of service or more within an ISNZ member school and be a role model for students and their peers to enhance the values of independent schooling. They must also demonstrate service and a contribution to the wider community.


Please read about this year's recipients and their awards 

Gloria Archer, Southwell School – for Service to Support and Administration

Chrissie Badger, Medbury School – for Service to Music

Rosemary Black, Medbury School – for Service to Boarding

Kathryn Gray, St Margaret’s College – for Service to Middle School Education

Russell Gray, St Andrew’s College – for Service to Catering

Claire Hall, Scots College – for Service to Pastoral Care and Education

Alison Hewett, Kristin School – for Service to School Libraries

Marion Horsburgh, Scots College – for Service to the Scots College Pipe Band

Mike Johnston, St Andrew’s College – for Service to Sport (Rugby and Cricket)

Christine Lewis, Diocesan School for Girls – for Service to Languages Teaching, Pastoral Care and Water Polo

Jenny Taylor, Kristin School – for Service to International Students

Laurence Wiseman, St Andrew’s College – for Service to Drama and Dance


ISNZ Honours Awards 2021 are proudly supported by:

CAIE logo col


Please click here to view our full Honours Awards page (previous award winners listed further down the page)